2017 Architectural Foundation Awards Breakfast!

Posted on March 23, 2017 by AFSF

The Architectural Foundation of San Francisco’s Eighteenth Annual Awards Breakfast will be held on Thursday, May 18, 2017 


The City Club, 155 Sansome Street, 11th Floor   San Francisco

7:30 am             Check-in and Coffee

7:45                   Breakfast

8:00 – 9:30      Program


To purchase tickets please contact Alan Sandler, 415-393-1493.


Sponsor @ $2,500 (reserves a table including 8 complimentary tickets)

Contributor @ $1,350 (reserves half a table with 4 complimentary tickets)

Individual Tickets are available @ $375


The Architectural Foundation of San Francisco’s Eighteenth Annual Awards Breakfast will be held on Thursday, May 18, 2017 at The City Club, 155 Sansome Street, 11th Floor in San Francisco.  The event will begin at 7:30 am with check-in and coffee, then the Breakfast will begin at 8:00 am and conclude by 9:30 am. This event will honor outstanding teachers and principals, students, architects and designers working in the classroom, firms and community organizations, all working on design education projects in the San Francisco Bay area. This annual awards event is attended by over 150 architects, engineers, contractors, educators, students and civic leaders.

The Architectural Foundation of San Francisco (AFSF) is a non-profit educational organization that involves San Francisco elementary and secondary public school students through a mentored appreciation of architecture, engineering, construction and the design process.

Past keynote speakers have included noted designer Alexander Julian, SFUSD Superintendent Carlos Garcia, Milton Chen, Executive Director, The George Lucas Educational Foundation, David Macaulay, author and illustrator, Dr. Tom Peters, President and CEO of the Marin Community Foundation, Dr. Sandra Hernandez, CEO of the San Francisco Foundation, Keith Wheeler, President and CEO of the Foundation for Our Future at the Center for a Sustainable Future in Shelburne Vermont, and Moy Eng, Program Director of the Performing Arts Program and The William and Flora Hewitt Foundation.

Proceeds from the event are used to support the Foundation’s educational programs, particularly our Build San Francisco Institute, a part of the San Francisco Unified School District’s Secondary School Redesign Initiative. This is an opportunity for SFUSD high school juniors and seniors to participate in an experiential learning program in architecture and urban design. Offering classes and mentorships in the afternoon hours of the school day, the Build San Francisco Institute introduces the students to the real world of urban planning and design, providing them a unique opportunity to become involved in the development of San Francisco.


Students from the Build San Francisco Institute.  AFSF breakfasts have showcased the Build San Francisco programs including both the morning Independence High School program and the afternoon Build San Francisco Institute mentorship program which were recognized for their outstanding work.

AFSF Executive Director presents Alexander Julian with the Speaker’s Award.

Build San Francisco Institute Student Speaker Mikalynn Todd

Build San Francisco Institute Student Speaker Alex Arevallo

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *