Best Design, Overall Superiority

1st place               Rachel Sweeney                      Lowell High School

2nd place              Emily Rupright                       Lick-Wilmerding High School    

3rd place               Jenny Cong                            Lowell High School


Honorable Mentions

            Maxim Yu                               Burlingame High School

            Aaron Liang                            Lowell High School

            Jasmine Liang                         Lowell High School

            Rigel Wakil                             Lowell High School

            Kelsey Wang                           Valley Christian High School

            Andrew Boghossian                Lick-Wilmerding High School


Best Group Entry

1st place               Lisabel Wolf                           Abraham Lincoln High School

            Jason Tan

            Emily Hu

2nd place              Brian Zhang                            Abraham Lincoln High School

            Justin Wong

3rd place              Cherry Tsang                           Abraham Lincoln High School

            Monty Choy

            Jet Hule

Honorable Mention

            Allison Lee                              Abraham Lincoln High School

            Katherine Ngo

Best Digital Presentation

1st place              Vialina Bulatova                      Abraham Lincoln High School

2nd place             Andre Simmons                      Lowell High School                           

3rd place             Maya Malauasi                          Nueva School


Honorable Mention

            Andrew Justin Villanueva         Lowell High School


Congratulations and thank you to all 88 students who submitted 68 designs.  Our judging panel of professional architects and designers were incredibly impressed by the level of effort, creativity, thoughtfulness, and attention to detail that ALL of the participants demonstrated in your submissions.

Thank you as well to Fort Mason for hosting the awards event and for providing this year’s design challenge topic.

And enormous thanks to Ryan Lee of Woods Bagot,  This former champion of the High School Design Competition has gone on to a successful career as a professional architect, and continues to give back with incredible dedication, spearheading the high school design competition process itself yet again.

For more information on the annual AFSF High School Design Competition, see: